Quad- India and Beyond

Quad- India and Beyond


  • External Affairs Minister of India, Japan, Australia, and the U.S.A  discussed the economic and security cooperation and challenges in the Indo-Pacific region.
  • India, Japan, Australia, and the U.S.A are part of a quadrilateral group (QUAD)

Minutes of the Quad Meeting:

  • Ministers highlighted their shared attributes as political democracies, market economies, and pluralistic societies.
  • India highlighted its commitment to rule-based international order because it was seen that few countries (for ex. China) are not following international protocols, respect for territorial integrity and sovereignty, rule of law, transparency, freedom of navigation in the International seas, and peaceful resolution of disputes.
  • Quad groupings advocated for democratic establishment in Myanmar.

About Quad groupings:

  • It was set up in 2007 with the name “Asian Arc of Democracy”.
  • It was revived in the year 2017
  • Member Countries- India, Japan, Australia, and the U.S.A

Importance of Quadrilateral grouping:

  • To develop infrastructure in the Indo-Pacific region.
  • To counter Chinese growing influence in the Indo-Pacific region.
  • To boost the trade alliance.
  • To ensure peaceful and secure passage in the South China Sea.
  • To spread Democratic values in the region.

Question UPSC Mains 2020 on Quad groupings

‘Quadrilateral Security Dialogue (QUAD)’ is the transforming itself into a trade bloc from a military alliance, in present times – Discuss. (Answer in 250 words)

Source- The Indian Express

[download id=”38617″]

No Comments

Post A Comment